top of page

DIY Couch Pillow

This simple DIY took me no more than 15 minutes to make, I kid you not!

I found some gorgeous upholstery fabric from the thrift store for no more than $1.00 so I could not pass on it...even though I have way too many different fabrics just waiting for me to sew up into cute creations.

SO that leads me into my first crafty thrifty tip: Buy fabrics from second hand stores, they often have a section of unused fabrics just waiting to be given purpose.

Materials used:

(right picture)

- Sewing Machine (Optional)

- Upholstery fabric

- Fabric Scissors

- pillow filler

To start, fold fabric in half and cut out a square the desired size with one edge along the fold that way you don't have to sew those edges together. (Bottom picture)

Fold fabric in half with the outside facing in so you can sew all three edges together.

Careful though you don't want to sew all the way or else you won't be able to fill it with filler. Leave about 7 inches so you can comfortably flip it right side out.

Next, take your filler (I had to cut strips of mine because I used quilt filler) and fill your pillow making sure that you fill the corners first. Make sure you use enough filler or else your pillow will go flat in next to no time.

To finish, fold in the edges of the raw fabric and sew it shut. There you have it, the pillow is all done.

Now if you want to get fancy with it you have a few options: You can add lace trim to the edges, sew button in the centre of the pillow, decorate it with beads...the only limits are your creativity!

Thanks for checking out this DIY...and checking in with Mister the kitty cat.

Happy crafting my friends!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Total Page Views

bottom of page