top of page

DIY Christmas Quilt

Ok ok...so you caught me! I have not been on my A game as far as blogging goes. New years resolution is that I will do a better job showing you step by steps on how I DIY my projects.

So with christmas long gone and 2017 just around the corner I wanted to show off the best christmas crafts and presents I had going on.

I made my mom this cozy quilt and she loved it!

The best part is that it cost less than $10.00 to make and all the materials used were reused from things that had been donated at the local thrift store.

I just skipped on down to the local VV Boutique (value village) and rummaged through their fabric sections for some pretty ones that matched...and this is what I came up with

---->

*Here’s what I used:

~ 5 fabrics: two solid, two patterns, and one cozy solid

~ comforter/baby blanket

*So here’s what you do:

1) Find four matching fabrics. I recommend two solids and two patterns and then a fifth fabric for backing. I used a nice suede fabric that is nice to cuddle up to. VERY COZY.

2) Cut them into squares. I used fairly big squares and I cut around 9/10 of each one.

3) Arrange them into a pattern. mine is simple and looks like this:

4) Sew the squares to each other with the seam on the inside and then you should have strips of squares (the rows) that you then sew to each other going across the whole strip. Make sure your seam is on the inside (by facing the good sides of the strip to each other and sewing along the edge). Once you’re done all of those strips you’re ready for the backing and the border.

5) Lie your patchwork square on top of the fabric you want for the backing. Trace out with chalk a larger square with as much or as little space as you want for your border. I did about my hand length (which is a small hand length). You then want to cut strips of that same width going the length of your backing square. Those will frame your quilt and hide any visible jagged edges.

6) Sew your strips to your quilt (again seam is on the inside). You should have a tidy square when you are done. Then marry the good sides of your quilt and backing so they are on the inside (think of it as a sandwich). Sew all along there leaving only a bit of room. Then you want to turn it right side out again and then insert some padding of another blanket (I used a big baby blanket).

7) Once the blanket is inside and the corners are where they belong I sewed a few stitches in every corner to secure the whole thing and then I sewed the quilt shut. Tada!!!! your quilt is done.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Total Page Views

bottom of page