top of page

DIY Lace Bralette

This may be the most challenging sewing project I've taken on thus far since undergarments are in my opinion the most complicated to sew. They have to fit right or else I won't want to wear them and those hours of work would have been for nothing!!

With all that said and done, I present you, my dear readers with my DIY Lace Bralette and I am quite pleased with it. I know, because I've actually been wearing it and it is one of my comfiest bras!

Bear with me as I tell you how I made mine.

First, here are the necessary materials:

~ The widest elastic lace you can find

mine was about 6" wide.

~ similar elastic lace for the under-breast band.

~Nude knit/stretch fabric

~Pins, Sewing materials, scissors,

craft paper, I'm sure you get the idea ;)

Step 1

On craft paper mark out your pattern for your bralette. I used another of my own bralettes to find my size. The bigger triangle should reach from the outside of your breast to past the centre to make sure it's big enough. the smaller triangle is for the inside of your breast.

Cut out the triangle pieces from the wide lace and then flip your paper pattern to cut out mirroring pieces for the other side of the bralette.

Step 2

cut out two slightly smaller triangles from the nude fabric and place the corresponding nude triangle on top of the underside of the lace triangle * so that the side you want to be the outside of the fabric is uncovered.

Sandwich the two triangles together with the nude pieces on the outside (like if the nude pieces were a burger bun and the lace was the burger itself). Pin the pieces together and sew the centre stitch.

Unfold the pieces (Bottom right) and then sew the outside edges down to the lace so they don't flop all over the place. You can also sew along the bottom, I recommend a zigzag stitch. Repeat these steps for the other bra cup.

Step 3

Now that I have both bra cups ready I can pin them to the 1.5" lace I have for the under breast strap. I pinned the pieces together making sure I had the bra cups at a desirable distance from each other and equal amounts of lace on either side.

First sew the inside bits together, starting from the inside of the triangle and going out (to the centre). And then again start from the inside of the triangle and sew the other side down (as seen in bottom right picture) going out to the other side.

I wasn't impressed with myself because I overestimated the distance I wanted between the bra cups. But not to worry there is a solution.

First advice, don't make the same mistake I did...actually don't make any mistakes at all! Just kidding you can't do that because anyone who attempts anything makes mistakes along the way!

SO advice n.2 If you make the same mistake as me don't worry about it, just cut out two small triangles and sew them layered next to the inside triangle.

Just like so:

Step 4

add the clasps to either end of the bra (Optional some people prefer just slipping it on without worrying about the clasp but I felt it would be easier to take on and off without being afraid of damaging your DIY...I mean you made this for god's sake! you want to be careful!)

NOTE** I also sewed in an elastic band which gives the lace structure. Do that by folding the lace over and sewing along the edge, while making sure you don't sew through the elastic.

The final step is sewing on bra straps. Think about where you want them to go before sewing them on. I made mine cross-backed because I feel it is more secure that way!

And there you have it dear fellow DIY'ers and fashion lovers. A simple, wearable, lace bralette. Don't hesitate to reach out by commenting down bellow in the comments section, or emailing me directly if you have any questions.

This is a fairly simple DIY and I believe that you can do it too! so go forth my friends and happy crafting!!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Total Page Views

bottom of page